WSB 2017 – Lausitzring – By Numbers

Find here a smashing set of pub-ammo facts and figures from the WSB press office, about WSB in Germany, ahead of this weekend’s return of the WSB series after their summer break!

4000 – In the 2011 German Round Troy Corser became the first –and to date, the only- rider to reach 4000 career points.

203.723 – The old Hockenheim track holds the third all-time value for the average speed over a single pole lap: Colin Edwards started from the top spot in 2000 with a lap averaging 203.723 km/h. This record value was beaten only 11 years on, at Monza, when Max Biaggi set the new mark at 204.405 km/h. Tom Sykes in 2013 improved that to 205.459 km/h, always at Monza.

Article continues below...

Enjoy more Fast Bikes reading in the monthly magazine.
Click here to subscribe & save.

100 – Last year Chaz Davies recorded the 100th pole here for Great Britain, the 170th for Ducati.

100 – Ayrton Badovini took his maiden pole in Germany (Nurburgring) at his 100th race, back in 2013.

Article continues below...

89 – So far 89 German riders have taken to the track in a WorldSBK weekend, 61 of them were able to qualify and start at least one race.

74 – The 2011 German round was the start of a long-running string for Championship leader Rea: since that weekend he has always qualified in the top10, a sequence of 74 after Laguna Seca.

62 – So far there have been 62 WorldSBK races run in Germany. There has been a German race weekend every year since the beginning of the championship in 1988 up to 2013.

Article continues below...

60 – In the 2006 weekend, both Troy Bayliss and Noriyuki Haga recorded their 60th career podium.

40 – Curiously, Bayliss and Haga went hand in hand in milestones also the following year, 2007, as Bayliss recorded his 40th win and Haga is 40th fastest race lap.

Article continues below...

30 – Fast forward to 2008 and Bayliss and Haga hit the headlines once more in Germany with a round number: the 30th win for Haga and the 30th fastest race lap for Bayliss.

12 – Twelve years ago Lorenzo Lanzi recorded his maiden pole and win at the Lausitzring.

10 – An emotional pole for Kawasaki here in 2007 with Fonsi Nieto: they had waited nearly ten years to record a pole position, as their previous one had been with Yanagawa at Sugo in 1997. They faced another two-year drought afterwards, but from 2010 onwards they were on pole every year at least once, recording no less than 50 of their 69 poles since then.

8 – Eight years since a German rider climbed on the podium for the last time (Max Neukirchner, Valencia 2009).

8 – The last eight Lausitzring races were won by eight different riders. 2005/1: Vermeulen; 2005/2: Lanzi; 2006/1: Kagayama; 2006/2: Toseland; 2007/1: Haga; 2007/2: Bayliss; 2016/1: Davies; 2016/2: Rea.

6 – The most successful riders on the German tracks are Colin Edwards, Carl Fogarty and Noriyuki Haga, with 6 wins each.

4 – Neil Hodgson is the only rider to have claimed four pole positions on German soil: three at Oschersleben and one at the Lausitzring.

4 – Troy Bayliss won four times at the Lausitzring from 2001 to 2007: he is the only rider to have claimed more than one win here.

4 – Only four races out of 12 were won from pole at the Lausitzring: the winner came always from the first eight grid spots.

3.878 – Changing weather conditions in the 2007 qualifying session meant that Fonsi Nieto recorded pole with an advantage of 3.878 seconds over his nearest rival, his team-mate Regis Laconi. That is the largest margin in the entire history of the Championship. That would remain the only pole in Nieto’s career.

1 – Max Neukirchner is the only German rider who recorded wins (2) and poles (2) in WorldSBK history. He was on pole in Germany back in 2008 at the Nurburgring.

1 – 2013 World Champion Tom Sykes recorded his maiden WorldSBK win in Germany in 2011 (Nurburgring). That was the first win for Kawasaki after a four-year drought, and only the second in 11 years. Since then, Sykes and Kawasaki won at least four races per season: the Japanese manufacturer is living their best moment in history, having claimed 67 of their 102 wins since that one by Sykes in Germany.

1 – Also Chaz Davies recorded his maiden win on German soil: in 2012 at the Nurburgring. He became the 70th winner in WorldSBK history.

0 – Tom Sykes, second in the all-time rankings with 41 pole positions, has never started from pole on German soil.


Pics: Kel Edge

Subscribe to Fast Bikes Magazine Enjoy more Fast Bikes reading in the monthly magazine. Click here to subscribe.