WSB 2017 – Qatar By Numbers

With the last WSB race of the year incoming this weekend, lets have a look at Qatar’s history within the series, with some whippy stats and figures direct from the WSB press office – those lovely people!

And don’t forget that the first race starts this Friday, not Saturday, in a newly revised schedule!

14 – Ducati holds the record for most podium finishes here, fourteen, their last two were the double win scored by Davies last year.

Article continues below...

Enjoy more Fast Bikes reading in the monthly magazine.
Click here to subscribe & save.

11 – There are 11 different winners out of 16 races held in Qatar so far. No one has won here more than twice.

11 – Only one win hasn’t come from the top seven grid spots here in Losail. Fonsi Nieto, taking his only WorldSBK win from 11th on the grid, in the second 2008 Race.

Article continues below...

6 – Max Biaggi is the record holder for podium finishes at Losail – six, which were over the three weekends spanning from 2007 to 2009. Troy Corser and Tom Sykes follow at 5, then Jonathan Rea at 4.

7 – There are seven different pole sitters in the history of the Qatar race. The only rider who has started from pole twice is Troy Corser (2007-2008).

Article continues below...

6 – Troy Corser has led no less than six races here, winning two of them (2005 Race 1, 2006 Race 2).

5 – The most successful manufacturer at Losail is Suzuki, with five wins. Aprilia is just behind at four, with Ducati next up at three.

5 – No less than five riders are tied for the record number of wins here (2): Troy Corser, James Toseland, Ben Spies, Sylvain Guintoli and Chaz Davies.

Article continues below...

4 – Four riders have claimed their maiden win here: Yukio Kagayama (2005), double World Champion Max Biaggi (2007), Fonsi Nieto (2008) and Jordi Torres (2015).

4 – In the last four visits to the Losail circuit, both wins were by a single manufacturer: Yamaha in 2009 (Spies); Aprilia in 2014 (Guintoli) and 2015 (Torres, Haslam); Ducati in 2016 (Davies).

3 – Only Troy Corser (2005, 2007, 2008) and Max Biaggi (2007, 2008, 2009) have started from the front row three times here. Tom Sykes is in the position to reach them this year.

3 – Three riders were able to score a Losail double: Ben Spies in 2009; Sylvain Guintoli in 2014; Chaz Davies last year.

2 – Two manufacturers were able to win both races here on the same weekend with two different riders: Suzuki in 2005 (Corser, Kagayama) and Aprilia in 2015 (Torres, Haslam).

2 – Only two wins out of 16 came from the pole spot in Qatar: the double recorded by Ben Spies in 2009.

2 – Regis Laconi (2005) and Davide Giugliano (2014) are the only riders coming from non-English speaking countries to have recorded pole here.

1 – The only reigning World Champion who won in Qatar was Troy Corser, eleven years ago.

0 – In the last three years, the polesitter has never won at Losail.




Subscribe to Fast Bikes Magazine Enjoy more Fast Bikes reading in the monthly magazine. Click here to subscribe.